Paint by Number Wall Mural

A while back I was totally inspired by Scott and Cheryl’s Paint by Number Wall mural and was determined to find a wall in my house to do the same.  When I was 8 months pregnant and it was time to decorate our nursery I decided to move ahead with this plan.  First I scoured the internet to find a paint by number image that I liked.  I found the image that we ended up using on a paint by number website called New stories for Paint by Numbers.  We weren’t looking for anything that screamed baby, instead wanting it to seem more like a view or window.

Next I borrowed a projector from work and we got to work tracing the image on the wall.  Since the projector didn’t cover the entire wall we split the image up into 4 sections and did once quarter at a time.

Of course we had to put the numbers on so we would know what color to paint.

and have a color cheat sheet

Here are some pics of the progress.  Wish I took more while we were painting the colors.

Done!

Here it is with furniture.  Unfortunately the rest of the room isn’t quite finished, but I hope to soon.

The baby really seems to like looking at it while we feed him.

Extra bonus: I accomplished #46 on my life list.  Paint a wall mural! Check!

This entry was posted in artsy, craftsy, lifelist and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Paint by Number Wall Mural

  1. Pingback: Mural in the Nursery | Really? . . . Wow!

  2. auntie says:

    Wow! That’s awesome. And your baby is darling :)

  3. Pamela says:

    Great job. I featured your project on my last post.

  4. Anna says:

    This is great! You did a fantastic job & it’s perfect for a boy’s room. Love it!

  5. Jesse says:

    Hi! I LOVE your mural! It’s fantastic. I tried to find a link to email you, I wanted to let you know that I used your mural in a spotlight on my blog, Nine Red, and I linked to you. Fabulous work!
    http://ninered.blogspot.com/2011/09/spotlight-paint-by-number-murals.html

  6. Pingback: DIY Paint by Number Round Up |

  7. Pingback: DIY Paint by Number Round Up {painting by numbers}

  8. Pingback: Paint By Number – The Everyday Rembrandt | A Storied Style | A design blog dedicated to sharing the stories behind the styles we create.

  9. Pingback: Extreme Paint by Numbering | THE CAVENDER DIARY

Leave a Reply

