Paint by Number Wall Mural

A while back I was totally inspired by Scott and Cheryl’s Paint by Number Wall mural and was determined to find a wall in my house to do the same.  When I was 8 months pregnant and it was time to decorate our nursery I decided to move ahead with this plan.  First I scoured the internet to find a paint by number image that I liked.  I found the image that we ended up using on a paint by number website called New stories for Paint by Numbers.  We weren’t looking for anything that screamed baby, instead wanting it to seem more like a view or window.

Next I borrowed a projector from work and we got to work tracing the image on the wall.  Since the projector didn’t cover the entire wall we split the image up into 4 sections and did once quarter at a time.

Of course we had to put the numbers on so we would know what color to paint.

and have a color cheat sheet

Here are some pics of the progress.  Wish I took more while we were painting the colors.

Done!

Here it is with furniture.  Unfortunately the rest of the room isn’t quite finished, but I hope to soon.

The baby really seems to like looking at it while we feed him.

Extra bonus: I accomplished #46 on my life list.  Paint a wall mural! Check!

This entry was posted in artsy, craftsy, lifelist and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Paint by Number Wall Mural

  1. Pingback: Mural in the Nursery | Really? . . . Wow!

  2. auntie says:

    Wow! That’s awesome. And your baby is darling 🙂

  3. Pamela says:

    Great job. I featured your project on my last post.

  4. Anna says:

    This is great! You did a fantastic job & it’s perfect for a boy’s room. Love it!

  5. Jesse says:

    Hi! I LOVE your mural! It’s fantastic. I tried to find a link to email you, I wanted to let you know that I used your mural in a spotlight on my blog, Nine Red, and I linked to you. Fabulous work!
    http://ninered.blogspot.com/2011/09/spotlight-paint-by-number-murals.html

  6. Pingback: DIY Paint by Number Round Up |

  7. Pingback: DIY Paint by Number Round Up {painting by numbers}

  8. Pingback: Paint By Number – The Everyday Rembrandt | A Storied Style | A design blog dedicated to sharing the stories behind the styles we create.

  9. Pingback: Extreme Paint by Numbering | THE CAVENDER DIARY

  10. Debbie says:

    I think it is totally do-able .. Do you have an image that you want ? and time frame ..

  11. Pingback: Wall-Sized Paint-By-Number > amy a la mode

  12. Pingback: ORC: The Big Boy Room - Inspiration {Week 2} - I Am Kilo Bravo

  13. Trinidad Muse says:

    Hi! By reading this message then you’ve proved that contact form advertising works! We can send your promotional message to people via their contact us form on their website. The advantage of this kind of promotion is that messages sent through contact forms are inherently whitelisted. This improves the chances that your advertisement will be read. Absolutely NO PPC costs! Pay a one time fee and reach millions of people. For details send a message to: lily5854gre@gmail.com

Leave a comment