Safe Cosmetics

Daily use of beauty products exposes U.S. women to up to 200 chemicals. Only 10 percent of cosmetic ingredients have been screened for safety.
-SafeCosmetics.org (via Sierra Club Magazine)

After checking the labels and throwing away most of my beauty products recently my shelves were pretty empty. I was discouraged to find some of my favorite products were in the trash category (Kiehls, Bumble and Bumble, Kiss my Face, some Trader Joe’s Products, my sunscreen . . .the list goes on and on). I have been on the lookout for good products that don’t have Parabens or Phthalates because they can be linked to breast cancer. It can be really hard to determine if a product has Phthalates because it is often lumped in with the term “Fragrance” so I looked for products that specified that they didn’t have them or I used some of the resources that I blogged about here. So far, the best candidates to replace my products are Burt’s Bees and Suki, which is carried at Whole Foods.

The more I read about this issue the more I feel that I need to do something. Here are a few downloads courtesy of SafeCosmetics.org with some information/suggestions:
Safe Cosmetics Sheet
Safe Cosmetics Letter

Since I’m not one to organize a rally or anything I think I might start with sending the letter to a few places, starting with Trader Joe’s since they seem to have such a health conscious business model.


About jjzach

Just a girl who decorates kiwis instead of eggs. In addition you will find all things artsy, craftsy, rosey, nerdy, funny and sporty.
This entry was posted in green and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

